Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic

   česky      english     

Advanced search

Skip to menu

UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization


The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO, is a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) based in Paris. Its declared purpose is to contribute to peace and security by promoting international collaboration through educational, scientific, and cultural reforms in order to increase universal respect for justice, the rule of law, and human rights along with fundamental freedom proclaimed in the United Nations Charter.

UNESCO has 193 member states and 12 associate members. Most of its field offices are "cluster" offices covering three or more countries; national and regional offices also exist.

UNESCO pursues its objectives through five major programs: education, natural sciences, social/human sciences, culture and communication/information. Projects sponsored by UNESCO include literacy, technical, and teacher-training programs, international science programs, the promotion of independent media and freedom of the press, regional and cultural history projects, the promotion of cultural diversity, translations of world literature, international cooperation agreements to secure the world's cultural and natural heritage (World Heritage Sites) and to preserve human rights, and attempts to bridge the worldwide digital divide. It is also a member of the United Nations Development Group.

UNESCO's aim is "to contribute to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information". Other priorities of the organization include attaining quality Education For All and lifelong learning, addressing emerging social and ethical challenges, fostering cultural diversity, a culture of peace and building inclusive knowledge societies through information and communication.

UNESCO Constitution and Conventions

Conventions and Agreements of Standard-Setting Nature adopted under the auspices of UNESCO solely or jointly with other International Organizations and ratified by the Czech Republic. more ►

Czech national committees of non-governmental organisations cooperating with UNESCO

Czech national committees of UNESCO intergovernmental programmes

Czech Republic and UNESCO

The Czechoslovak Republic was one of the 37 original founding members who, at a conference in London on 16 November 1945, adopted the UNESCO Constitution, which entered into force on 4 November… more ►