Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic

   česky      english     

Advanced search

Skip to menu



UNESCO is a specialized agency of the United Nations created in 1945 and based in Paris. UNESCO represents a laboratory of ideas and a standard-setter to forge universal agreements on emerging ethical issues. The Organization also serves as a clearinghouse - that disseminates and shares information and knowledge - while helping Member States to build their human and institutional capacities in diverse fields. In short, UNESCO promotes international co-operation among its 195 Member States and 9 Associate Members in the fields of education, science, culture and communication.

 The Czech Republic is a member of UNESCO since 22nd February 1993.

The Organization has a global network of national cooperating bodies known as National Commissions for UNESCO. Currently, there are 199 National Commissions across the world. UNESCO offices are located in two places in the same area :

  • 7, place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris 07 SP France
  • 1, rue Miollis 75732 Paris Cedex 15 France