Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic

   česky      english     

Advanced search

Skip to menu

Council of Europe


Council of Europe

Strasbourg, North-Eastern France
Founded: 1949
Member States: 45 countries including 21 countries from Central and Eastern Europe, 1 applicant country, 5 countries with observer status
Aims: to defend human rights, parliamentary democracy and the rule of law, to develop continent-wide agreements to standardise member countries´social and legal practices, to promote awareness of a European identity based on shared values and cutting across different cultures.

The Czech Republic is a member of the Council of Europe since 30th June 1993.


To know more: