english  česky 

Advanced search
Photo: Photo credit: Dean Calma/IAEA
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

Ambassador Ivo Šrámek elected as the Chair of the IAEA Board of Governors for 2022-2023

The IAEA Board of Governors elected by acclamation Ambassador Ivo Šrámek as the Chairperson of the IAEA’s Board of Governors for 2022–2023. His one-year term commences today - 3 October 2022. He replaces H.E. Ham Sangwook, Governor of the Republic of Korea.

Ambassador Ivo Šrámek was a candidate on behalf of the Eastern European Regional Group. The Czech Republic is honoured to serve at this important position for the first time in its history. We have been long staunch supporter of peaceful uses of nuclear science and technologies for energy and other applications and we take an active role in the IAEA since its establishment. We strongly support IAEA’s activities and we are well aware of their valuable positive impacts in many different areas. We provide financial contribution and we are involved in various successful initiatives and support of dozens IAEA trainees in all areas. We are convinced that the IAEA contributes significantly to ensure that the nuclear energy and ionizing radiation are used safely and securely for peaceful purposes and we fully support the IAEA´s mission.

The Board of Governors is one of the two policy-making bodies of the IAEA, along with the annual General Conference of the IAEA Member States. The Board examines and makes recommendations to the General Conference on the IAEA's financial statements, programme and budget. It considers applications for membership, approves safeguards agreements and the publication of the IAEA's safety standards. It also appoints the Director General of the IAEA, with the approval of the General Conference. The Board generally meets five times per year: in March and June, twice in September (before and after the General Conference) and in November. The Board consists from 35 members representing all geographical regional groups. 


Chair of the IAEA BoG