česky  english 

Advanced search
Article notification Print Decrease font size Increase font size

About the Czech Republic

Basic country information

The Czech Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe. The country is bordered by Poland to the north, Germany to the west, Austria to the south and Slovakia to the east. Its capital and largest city, with 1.3 million inhabitants, is Prague. The Czech Republic includes the historical territories of Bohemia and Moravia and a small part of Silesia. The Czech Republic is a member of the EU, NATO, UN, OECD, WTO etc.

Flag and Coat of Arms:

Flag Coat of Arms

Political System:
Parliamentary democracy

Time Zone:
Continental European Time (GMT+1)

78,864 sq. km

Approx. 10 513 000

The Czechs with minorities of Slovaks, Poles and Germans.Mains Electricity:

Koruna (Kc) - Czech Crown (CZK)

Prague [Population: 1,300,000]

Major cities:
Brno, Ostrava, Plzen


Continental; cool summers; cold, cloudy, humid winters

Bohemian forest, castles, spas, lakes & rivers

Czech Republic national days and public holidays:

  • 1 January: Restoration of the Independent Czech State (January 1, 1993)
  • 21 April : Easter Monday
  • 1 May: Labour Day
  • 8 May: Victory Day
  • 5 July: St Cyril and St Methodius
  • 6 July: Jan Hus Day
  • 28 September: Czech Statehood Day
  • 28 October: Independence Day - Establishment of the Czechoslovak Republic (October 28, 1918)
  • 17 November: Struggle for freedom and democracy
  • 24-26 December: Christmas